The purpose of the Wellspring Center for Prevention’s Board of Trustees is to advise, govern, oversee policy and direction, and assist with the leadership and general promotion of Wellspring so as to support the organization’s mission and needs.
The Board is comprised of representatives from the economic, social and professional leadership of the Middlesex County region reflecting the diverse nature of those we serve.
Members serve on the Board for a period of three years, which may be renewed up to a maximum of two consecutive terms, pending approval of the board.
The Board’s major responsibilities include:

  • Strategic planning and mission development
  • Formulation and oversight of policies and procedures
  • Financial management, including adoption and oversight of the annual budget
  • Selection and supervision of the CEO/Executive Director
  • Review of organizational and programmatic reports, ensuring work of the agency is in service of its mission
  • Promotion of the organization
  • Fundraising and outreach

Alex Smuklavskiy


Executive Director/CEO – Stress Care of New Jersey
Elected 2018

Sherri Goldberg

Vice President

Director of Community & Family Services
Elected 2020

Dr. Robert Boccino


Elected 2022

Steve Polinsky


Elected 2015

Homer M. Mosley, Jr.


Retired – Dunellen Municipal Alliance member
Elected 2019

Akshay Kamath


Entrepreneur | Philanthropist | Activist
Elected 2019

Patricia Kazanowski


Clinic Director at Central Jersey Comprehensive Treatment Center
Elected 2020

Joseph A. Borbon


Enterprise Tech Operations Manager+
Elected 2022

Danielle Mastropiero


Attorney and RN
Elected 2023

Irakli (Eric) Kakauridze, DHSc, MPH


NJ4S Hub Director at Partners for Prevention
Elected 2023

Ezra Helfand

Executive Director/CEO

Executive Director/CEO – Wellspring Center for Prevention